Top 15 Albums of 2016

It’s that time of year again where we sit back, turn on Spotify and try to pick the best of the best. Luckily, this year was extra hard to pick favorites. There is no doubt that 2016 was one of the worst years imaginable, however, the music made up for all the shitty memes, horrible presidential debates, endless celebrity deaths, and political family drama. So while my headphones can’t block out the fact that we have an orange lunatic running our country, they can definitely make the wounds hurt less. So let’s get the ball rolling – Here are my Top 15 Albums of 2016.

  • 15. 24K Magic [Bruno Mars] Simply put, the good songs are very enjoyable and the bad songs are tiresome. What makes this album a top 15 hit though, is the fact that it isn’t like anything else on the radio right now. The retro vibes, funky beats and Michael Jackson style vocals make Bruno completely stand out against all the other mainstream artists who are releasing music. However, with only ten tracks, I would expect the album to have less fillers and more exciting songs like Chunky, Versace on the Floor, and 24K Magic. Like I said earlier though, the good songs really put this album over the top. They are stellar.

    unknown-8

  • 14. Glory [Britney Spears] …And the comeback award goes to Britney Spears! Like damn. With the horrible predecessor Britney Jean, this album is quite the revival for Ms. Spears. From beginning to end, it features some serious bops and sleek anthems. With tracks like Do You Wanna Come Over, What You Need, and If I’m Dancing, Britney captures the audience with what seems like a new side of her. She seems much happier and more lively than in her previous albums. This happier version of Brit definitely makes the record feel more honest and personal. Although it didn’t make itself into the top 10, it was definitely my guilty pleasure when it came out. Being one of the biggest surprises for me this year, I found myself really enjoying this record.  If you haven’t listened yet, I would definitely recommend it – but prepare for your middle school self to awaken.

unknown-10

  • 13. Lady Wood [Tove Lo] A solid sophomore album from Tove Lo; the prominent drugged up, sexualized pop star from Sweden. If you listened to her first album, Queen of the Clouds, you would know that she shies away from no topic. In case you didn’t understand the sexual innuendo in the title of the record, Tove Lo is all about embracing her sexuality – and damn did it produce a sexy album. With a funky production and some insanely unique lyrics, she went out of her way to outdo herself from her first record. This uniqueness is presented to us in one of her best songs to date: Flashes. In this track she places the listener in her dark, torturous side of fame. Along with some painful lyrics, you are given a pretty intense production break down at the end of the song, which only makes the track that much more peculiar. That song along with True Disaster and Keep It Simple are some of the highlights off the album. Tove Lo is a real underdog in the industry right now, so go ahead and spread some love her way, she’s worth the listen!

unknown-11

  • 12. +30mg [Cruel Youth] +30mg is the first EP from the talented Husband and Wife musical duo: Cruel Youth. Formerly known as Natalia Kills, Teddy Sinclair teams up with her husband Willy Moon to create a twisted and demoralized tale of depression and love. With only 7 songs, it is easy to fall in love with every track. Hatefuck and Mr. Watson definitely take the cake for being the strongest songs on the album. The production on the two songs are crazy-good and Sinclair’s vocals can send shivers down anyone’s spine. The other 5 tracks on the album are still stand outs. With songs like the opening track Everything Was Beautiful or the hauntingly dark album closer Diamond Days, you really can’t go wrong. I’ve listened to this EP over and over again and it never disappoints.

unknown-12

  • 11. Sit Still, Look Pretty [Daya] I may try to be an angsty teen on the verge of rebellion who only listens to underground indie music, but I’m not – I love myself some bubblegum pop. Daya is the definition of teeny bop pop and IDGAF what you think, I am going to jam out like a teenage girl when I listen to her. Whether it be the smash hit to-be, Love of My Life, or the girl-power anthem, Sit Still, Look Pretty, you can find me dancing around in my room half naked listening and singing along. On the other hand, however, you can find me getting real emotional listening to the power ballads, Back To Me and U12. Sure, this album might not be a critic’s wet dream but that’s not what it’s always about. Sometimes you just have to put on some catchy tunes and unwind. It should also be noted that this is Daya’s debut album, so call me impressed. I can’t wait to see what else she has in store!

daya_-_sit_still_look_pretty_album

  • 10. This Unruly Mess I’ve Made [Macklemore & Ryan Lewis] Did you even know that Macklemore & Ryan Lewis released a full length LP this year? Probably not. That’s why this album is such a gem. This record has some of the greatest material of the year. Songs like White Privilege II and Light Tunnels are so candid and raw that it is like taking a journey through Macklemore’s life. With a typical sophomore album, you would expect the artist to try curve towards the mainstream, however, that is the exact opposite thing that happened with this record. You feel his honesty, his humility, and his humbleness. It’s refreshing to see artists writing music that matters to them instead of what will make them money. Macklemore & Ryan Lewis created an album that was meant to inspire and invoke new ideas to listener; it opened my eyes. Unfortunately, the record has some missteps and fillers which is why it’s only ranked at number ten, but don’t let that shy you away from giving it a listen. You won’t regret pressing play on this piece of art.

unknown-5

  • 9. The Life of Pablo [Kanye West] Yeezus kills it again. This sporadic, insane, over-the-top, epic known as Life of Pablo is truly larger than life. Listening from beginning to end is like taking a step into the wild mind of Kanye himself. It’s tracks like Ultralight Beam, Waves, Wolves, FML, Facts, and 30 Hours that are so energetic and commanding that you almost feel a fire ignite inside of you; it’s that forceful. The production and the bizarre lyrics mesh together to create a monumental masterpiece of pain and power. It’s no secret that Mr. West writes every song with his raw passion for hip-hop; there is no shortage of that on The Life of Pablo. Whether it be the gospel enlightened Ultralight Beam or the shade filled Famous, Kanye still reigns as the Rap deity that will never be touched.

    the_life_of_pablo_alternate 

  • 8. Dangerous Woman [Ariana Grande] Call her a donut licker, America hater, or a diva but don’t you dare say she can’t sing. This girl has some serious pipes and she’s not afraid to prove that on this high energy record. With this being Grande’s third studio album, it’s obvious that she still has it in her. Her dominant vocals mixed with some of the best pop production of the year blend together to create a radio station’s dream come true. It’s true, singles like Into You, Side To Side, and Dangerous Woman destroyed the airwaves because it’s everything anything wants in a pop song. Her songs may be a bit conventional but with her vocals and raw talent, she stands out against all of the other basic pop stars in the industry right now. It’s tracks like Greedy and Touch It that remind us that Ariana may be a “pop artist” but she has a voice like no other. In both of these songs, she produces these choruses that are so over the top that it’s almost like she forgot to turn the caps lock off… BUT IT WORKS!  Ariana crafted an awesome album here and it is definitely worth the listen even if you aren’t the biggest fan of hers. With a frickin’ awesome production, killer vocals, and distinguished features, Dangerous woman proves one thing: Talent Always Wins.

ariana_grande_-_dangerous_woman_official_album_cover

  • 7. Wildfire [Rachel Platten] In this brightly lit, empowerment album, Rachel Platten takes the bull by the horns and shows the world just how talented she is. For myself, I felt like her goal in this album was to make the listener feel something. Whether that be inspiration, pain, heartache, or pure giddiness, Rachel achieves her goal.  It’s tracks like Stand By You, Fight Song, and Superman that can make anyone feel strong enough to climb a mountain. Or songs like Astronauts, Better Place, You Don’t Know My Heart and Speechless that make you feel nostalgic about a break up you never even had. Rachel gives the listener strong choruses with mesmerizing lyrics to create a piece of pop gold. It’s simplicity, it’s optimism, it’s strength and charisma are what make this album so satisfying to listen to. Every song is better than next and every word she sings is more empowering than the one before.  So yeah, blast this when you’re finishing your last mile, getting over a break up, driving the streets on a dark night, or even when you’re envisioning the first female president… There is an occasion for everything! This album is superb. 

unknown-7

  • 6. Lemonade [Beyonce] Oh boy… It’s Beyonce time. It’s not a secret that Queen B is the popular girl in the school of pop music. But does her talent and artistry hold up against the hype? Usually I would say no, however, Lemonade is bad-ass album. Formation, Don’t Hurt Yourself, All Night, Daddy Lessons, and Freedom are the highlights on this rock solid workpiece. It seems as if Beyonce’s whole career was leading up to this album. With it’s controversial undertones and lyrics, an untamable production and insane features, Bey sets herself up to create one of the most honest and exquisite albums of all time. For example, songs like Formation and Freedom take a stand against the white supremacy in America while simultaneously embracing her Black Heritage. Tracks like Sorry and Don’t Hurt Yourself confront her husbands infidelityUsing her fiery passion, pain and betrayal as a weapon, Beyonce takes the listener on a dark ride down the road of unfaithfulness and prejudice. The album is a spectacle unlike any other. Its awe inspiring to see someone so idolized and unblemished like Beyonce, to be so vulnerable and powerless. Lemonade isn’t your run-of-the-mill pop album, in fact, I think it creates it’s own genre. It champions so many pop characteristics, yet, it’s myriad of amazing lyrics and unconventional R&B flairs make it stand out above other pop album releases of 2016. This record -this magnum opus- is the reason Beyonce is the reigning supreme in the music industry. She is truly a force to be reckoned with.

Unknown-9.jpeg

  • 5. ANTI [Rihanna] Experimentation pays off on this Rihanna record. From a hauntingly beautiful cover like Same Ol’ Mistakes to a fervent club banger like Work, Rihanna is set out to prove her medley of songs is more than album, rather, a view of who she really is. From showing us her painful honesty in Love On The Brain to proving just how talented her vocals really are in Higher, this record seems to have a goal in creating a new image for Rihanna; a much darker Rihanna. There are so many tracks on this album that make you sit back and feel the emotions she is feeling. She somehow puts the listener in her shoes to feel her anger, her guilt, her pain, her lust, and even her happiness. Given that this is her eighth full length album, you can see her evolution from an early 2000’s pop star to a magnificent musician with soul. We see so many new sides of Ri Ri on this record; it’s really refreshing. This intimate pop/R&B mashup record is what we were all waiting for from Rihanna. We had seven albums of radio-ready/Top-100 songs, it was time for Rihanna to serve us some serious emotions and she didn’t let us down.

unknown-14

  • 4. Starboy [The Weeknd] This sinful piece of artwork is the reason you never underestimate an artist. I’ll be the first to admit that until this year, The Weeknd, also known as Abel Tesfaye, flew under my music radar. Not anymore. A solid and well thought out record like this one cannot be overlooked – it’s a true spectacle. With the behemoth eighteen song track-list, you are sure to find at least one song that trips your trigger. False Alarm was the first track off this album that caught my attention. It’s deranged chorus of screaming and chanting is peculiar enough to capture your attention, however, it’s fast paced tempo and aura of mystery is what keeps you hooked. Other songs like Party Monster and I Feel It Coming are also complete ear worms. Both offer choruses that are out-of-this-world and lyrics that are intriguing and captivating. You also have tracks like Sidewalks and Die For You which are lyrical monuments – you won’t want to miss these standouts. Every track off this album is worth at least one listen, you won’t regret it. With a clean, fresh production from beginning to end, mesmerizing lyrics and Abel’s awe-inspiring smooth voice to top it all off, this album is stand alone masterpiece.

unknown-15

  • 3. Oh My My [One Republic] I’ve rewrote this opening line over and over again in hopes of encapsulating how brilliant this album is and I simply can’t. When I press shuffle and listen to this album on repeat throughout the day, I want everyone to experience the same feeling I get when I listen to it but I know that will never happen. No words can express how good the chorus is on Let’s Hurt Tonight or what it’s like to feel the chorus of Kids rush through your ears and down your spine. I can’t convey the feeling I get when I listen to Born on max volume… or what it’s like to listen to Fingertips alone late into the night. I want the world to feel the energy I feel when I listen to Better… and I want the world to feel as audacious as I feel when I hear the guitar solo on A.I. (Artificial Intelligence).  I want to share these feelings through my writing but it’s just not possible. You can’t convey music with words, unfortunately. However, what I can say is that this record is a top three album for a reason, it’s near perfection. Frontman Ryan Tedder is exceptional vocally and the band behind him is close to flawless. Together they created an album that was meant to be heard by tens of thousands people on summer night in an enormous stadium. With anthems that are meant to be screamed and ballads that are meant to bring people together, Oh My My is a little piece of bliss.

unknown-13

  • 2. Joanne [Lady Gaga] If any artist on this list has proved their talent the past couple of years, it’s Lady Gaga. Whether it be her inspiring campaign to end campus sexual assault with her song Till It Happens To You, singing one of the best Super Bowl national anthems ever, or slaying everyone at the 2015 Oscar Awards with her adaption of the Sound of Music soundtrack, she has shown the world she has an enormous amount of passion and talent. This album is no different, Joanne is an exhibition like no other. With it being a complete 180 from her previous album ARTPOP, Lady Gaga shows the world her softer side on this new record. Songs like Million Reasons, Sinner’s Prayer, Angel Down, Just Another Day, and Joanne showcase just how well she can pull off a ballad. Million Reasons, in particular, is a huge standout on this record. While simultaneously showing off her impeccable song writing skills and amazing vocals, Gaga gives us this stunning song about her connection and love for her fans. Don’t be mistaken though, this album isn’t just heart wrenching ballads. In fact, there are some really intense, high energy tracks. Songs like Perfect Illusion, Diamond Heart, and John Wayne are sure to pump anyone up. The first single off the album, Perfect Illusion, was our first taste of this delicious album. With this single, we are given a new side of Gaga; an adrenalized side. While it seemed like some fans weren’t ready for this new side of her, I was. Perfect Illusion was the lively, irate anthem that we all desperately needed from Mother Monster. This album is full of diversity; there are definite Country vibes, Rock inspirations, Hints of Pop, and whole lot of passion. Every time I listen to this album I have a new experience, sometimes it’s happy and sometimes it’s sad. For example, whenever I hear the song Grigio Girls, oddly enough, I think of my late Grandpa and how hard it was to see him go. Although that might sound sad, it’s far from. The song is about thinking about the happy times in someone’s life rather than dwelling on the sadness. What the song accomplishes is pretty unimaginable.  Whereas, when the Trayvon Martin inspired Angel Down comes on shuffle, I feel enraged. You can feel her anger in her voice and her lyrics; it’s truly transfixing. And Who am I kidding? When I listen to A-Yo I want to throw on a cowboy hat and throw a frickin’ party. Listen… Joanne isn’t your run-of-the-mill Lady Gaga album, and if you’re expecting that you might be let down. However, let me assure you that talent isn’t what you hear on the radio, it’s not that auto-tuned BS you hear on the iTunes Top 10, it’s in albums like these where artists start making music for the soul instead of the cash. Joanne is one the best albums of 2016 —- It’s truly a treasure. 

unknown-16

  • 1. This is Acting [Sia] Sia has a talent like no other. She has the exceptional vocals, the amazing writing skills and a bit of mystery surrounding her. This Is Acting takes talent to a whole new level. Almost as if it’s a sequel to her previous work 1000 Forms Of Fear, this record follows her fear of love, debilitating anxiety, and never ending sadness. However, this isn’t a depressing album at all – it’s the exact opposite. She channels these feelings into powerful triumphs of healing. Personally, whenever I feel down, Sia is who I go to. It’s songs like Unstoppable that make me want to stand up and fight for my happiness. I repeat the same lyrics over in my head “I’m Unstoppable Today… I’m Unstoppable Today”. It sounds cheesy but the song is so powerful to me. If Sia can overcome her fears, standup in front of crowd and sing those lyrics, then I can wake up in the morning and say those words to myself in the mirror. Her lyrics are like strength to me. Bird Set Free, a track about freeing yourself from the cage you live in, along with being an amazing song, is a total inspiration to me. With lyrics like “I’m not gon’ care if I sing off key / I find myself in my melodies / I sing for love, I sing for me / I shout it out like a bird set free”, it’s so easy to see just how much soul and devotion she puts into her tracks. Sia places such prowess behind her words, it’s amazing. Every lyric, every part of the production, and every note she sings is breathtaking. Without trying to sound Melodramatic, I have to say that this astonishing Sia record is one of the best albums I have ever heard. It’s the strength, the confidence, the passion, and the assurance that I look for in music. When I go through difficult times in my life, I often turn towards music to fill that void. This Is Acting didn’t just fill that void, it gave me resilience. The spectacular amount of strength on the record made me want to be heard, to fight for myself and to be who I am. For one the first times ever, every single track on a record is one that I absolutely adore. Out of all nineteen tracks, there isn’t one song that I don’t care for. Each song holds a different meaning to me, whether it be The Greatest, Move Your Body, Broken Glass, House On Fire, Footsteps, or the radio hit Cheap Thrills, I relate to every single song. As much as I love Lady Gaga to death, this album came out at the perfect time for me. It’s the album that I needed. This Is Acting needs more than a review, it needs a listen from you. Enjoy. 

unknown-17

Leave a comment